Table of Contents


NOTE: To work with this BLOX application you will need to be granted access in Settings / Users / Groups. If you do not see this application in the drop-down in the upper-left of your BLOX CMS desktop, or for more information about groups and getting access to different parts of your BLOX CMS admin please see Groups - Recommendations / Best Practices. The site administrator at your location should be able to grant you access, or you can contact TownNews Customer Support by submitting a ticket through your BLOX CMS admin (for more information see Ticket Workspace) or by going to TownNews.com Customer Support. Or you can call 800-293-9576.


You will need to be part of the Manager group.

Overview

FTP Manager allows users to create, edit, and delete FTP settings on their site.


Note: If an FTP account is created and is never logged into, it will be deleted in 3 months. A new account will need to be created at that point.

If an account is logged into at least once, but is not used for at least 6 months after that, it will become inactive. Inactive accounts can be reactivated by contacting customer support. An inactive account will be deleted 3 months after it has become inactive, and cannot be retrieved. A new account will need to be created at that point.

Note: If an FTP account becomes deactivated it will NOT show up in the list of accounts in the FTP Manager popup. TownNews Customer Support can reactivate a deactivated account. They cannot retrieve an account that has been deleted.



Note: You can contact TownNews Customer Support by submitting a ticket through your BLOX admin (Support / Ticket for more information please see the Ticket Workspace doc) or by calling 800-293-9576.


ACCESSING APPLICATIONS

From the drop-down in the the upper left choose Settings / FTP Manager...


NOTE: Not sure how to access BLOX Applications? Click here


Workspace

+5 
FTP Manager

FTP Manager has three options:

1 Create a New account

2 Edit an existing account

3 Delete an account

Create New Account(s)

Click New. This opens the New FTP Account window.

+5 
2a_FTPMgr.jpg

1  Username - A username is required to set up the FTP account.  You will use this every time you log into FTP.

2  Home folder - The home directory that the FTP account is restricted to. Press the ... button to the right to change this field.  It will up the Browse Directories window.  You can also Create a new directory.

+5 
2e_FTPMgr.jpg

3  SFTP - If checked, the account may only access the server via secured means (SFTP); if not checked, the account may be accessed via regular or secure FTP.

4  Change Password - If checked, fields specifying a new password will be submitted, and if the request is successful, the password will be changed. If not checked, the password will not be changed on submission, regardless of the values in this section.


This button is disabled on new account creation. As new accounts are required to either specify a password or mark it to be automatically generated by the server.

5  Password Type - If Auto Generate is selected and a password change request is submitted, then the server will generate a new password for the account and that password will be displayed on success. If, however, Set Password is selected, then the Password field will be checked against the Confirm field and a request to change the password to the specified value will be submitted.

6  Password - The password to be used for the account. Passwords must meet the following criteria: At least 8 characters in length, contain at least 1 uppercase and 1 lowercase character, and also must contain at least 1 digit or special character.


Tool Tips for password creation can be viewed by hovering over Password section.

7  Confirm - Re-enter your password here to confirm it. If a specific password is being saved or changed and it does not match the field, the account will not be allowed to be saved. This is a required field.

8  Save - Click Save when you are done.

Edit Account(s)


Note: If an FTP account becomes deactivated it will NOT show up in the list of accounts in the FTP Manager popup. TownNews Customer Support can reactivate a deactivated account. They cannot retrieve an account that has been deleted.


To Edit an account, select it from the list and either double click on it to open, or click it once to select and then click Edit.

+5 
3_FTPMgr.jpg

The Edit FTP Account "XXXX" screen opens.  In this window, the Contact, Home Folder, SFTP designation, and Password can be changed as necessary.  When the FTP account has been modified to suit your needs, select Save from the bottom right of the screen to keep the changes, or Cancel to discard.

+5 
4_FTPMgr.jpg

Delete Account(s)

To delete an FTP account, select it from the list of accounts by clicking on it once, then click Delete in the upper right corner of the screen.

+5 
5_FTPMgr.jpg

A confirmation screen appears.  If you are sure you want to delete the account, select Yes.  To maintain the selected account, click No.

BLOX FTP / SFTP

For more information on the settings that should be used when setting-up a connection within an ftp program please follow this link.