Table of Contents

Overview

The User Authentication settings allows you to enable and set up Authentication Settings and Concurrent Logins. Concurrent Logins allows for registered site users who use 'Remember Me' settings and it uses their Cookie preferences.


Note:  For information on Authentication Provider. For information on Federated Authentication.


Concurrent Logins

ACCESSING APPLICATIONS

From the drop-down in the the upper left choose Community / User Accounts...


NOTE: Not sure how to access BLOX Applications? Click here


AUTHENTICATION

UserAuthMainConcurrentLogin.jpg

Concurrent Logins

BLOX user accounts are typically limited to one login at a time. This is intended to reduce account sharing. However, by setting up Concurrent Logins, you are able to allow your users to have multiple sessions at a time.

Clicking the Enabled box will turn on the ability for users to be logged into your site from more than one device using the same username and password.

After the Enabled box is checked, enter the number of concurrent logins any one user can have into the Login Slots Per User field.

When all slots are in use

When all slots are in use sets how to recycle used slots.

Recycle the oldest slot: If you attempt to log into a device but you have already reached the max number of logins, the device that was logged in first will be logged off to allow access to the new device.

Recycle the oldest slot if it is older than...: This parameter is set in hours. If you attempt to log into a device but you have already reached the max number of logins, the device that was logged in first will be logged off IF it has been logged in at least this number of hours. Otherwise the device will not be logged out to allow access to the new device. 

Click Save.

PASSWORD AUTHENTICATION

Password Authentication removes the ability to log into the front end of your website. This does not remove the User Dashboard and your readers will not be able to log-in to comment on stories. This could also affect certain certain forms if you require readers to log in to accomplish these tasks.

The next setting option enables and defines your Remember Me settings.

2a  Putting a checkmark in the Enabled Box means that (depending on the option selected below) the front-end user's authentication state could be preserved beyond the current browser session. When Enabled is checked, a Default State must also be selected:

2b  Enabled At User's Option:  The user has the option to allow the site to 'remember' them.

2c  Disabled At User's Option:  The user has the option to allow the site to 'forget' them - otherwise, the system will remember them.

2d  Force Enabled For All Users:  The site will always 'remember' the user, the user has no say.

3  The final setting on Other Settings is the Advanced 'Use Parent Domain's Authentication Cookies' option. This setting is only relevant if your site is a subdomain of a parent domain (umbrella site) that is also hosted on the BLOX CMS system. If this describes your site, selecting this option means that your parent site's domain name will be used when setting and removing authentication cookies.